Is Chris Roots an umpire
................ from the SMH this morning:
Kentucky Derby ruling wouldn’t happen here
Racing might be a worldwide sport but it runs on many different rule books.
The decision in the Kentucky Derby to disqualify 11/2-length winner Maximum Security and award the race to second-placed Country House was bemusing if you follow the Australian rules.
Jockey Luis Saez rolled out on Maximum Security turning for home, causing what the Americans call a foul. War Of Will was severely checked and lost his running, and finished eighth. Country House, which was to the outside of War Of Will, didn’t cop as much interference and was a well-beaten second over the line.
Connections of both horses lodged objections, and the protest was upheld on the strength of the foul on War Of Will.
It would have been a suspension for Saez in Australia but he would have kept the race as the interference caused was not greater than the margin between the two horses. But if there is “foul” in the US the horse is disqualified, and it was a clearly the right decision under their rules.