Owners dispute Photo Finish - Racing Talk - Racehorse TALK   harm-plan

Racehorse TALK



Owners dispute Photo Finish - Racing Talk - Racehorse TALK

Author Topic: Owners dispute Photo Finish  (Read 209 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Arsenal

  • VIP Club
  • Group 1
  • User 194
  • Posts: 17185
O.P. « 2021-Jan-22, 11:26 PM »

Owner to battle controversial photo finish: Was the correct winner declared?

By Nick Hluchaniuk Wednesday at 3:28pm
It was a photo finish to the 2YO Plate It was a photo finish to the 2YO Plate Image: Western Racepix

The result of a tight finish to a two-year-old race at Ascot on Saturday could be the subject of a legal stoush with the owner of the runner-up not convinced that the correct winner has been declared. 

Toppa The Mountain was given the victory in the tightest of goes over a fast-finishing Green And Shady in the Two-Year-Old Plate over 1100m, with the official margin given as 0.01L.

Watching live, Green And Shady's owner Eddie Rigg of Geisel Park Stud believed his gelding had just missed, but subsequent replays had him thinking he'd got the victory before Toppa The Mountain's number went in the frame.


This prompted Rigg to request an inspection of the photo finish.

"They take us in the stewards' room first to see if there's a case to look at. They brought it up on a big screen in the stewards' room and it was clear we'd won. It wasn't a dead-heat, we'd won by two or three centimetres," Rigg said.

"Then they said we've got to go and see the judges. So up we went...and the judges said 'no, no, clearly Toppa The Mountain won and they put up a picture on their screen with two lines across showing Toppa The Mountain won. But the line they had against Toppa The Mountain wasn't against his head.

"We said 'hang on, you haven't got the line lined-up against the horses nose'. And they refused to budge on that. They said 'Are you satisfied?' and I said, 'Of course I'm not satisfied'."

Rigg's concern over the result intensified later that night when he was sent pictures of the finish taken from the broadcast.

"Later that evening, people were able to put the freeze-frame showing that we'd won based on the TV. The TV (camera) is past the post, that means if the TV shows the outside horse won, then the outside horse must have clearly won because the camera is past the line," he said.

"Then RWWA put up on its website the official photo finish and it showed us in front.

"When the principal racing authority put on their own website showing another horse won the race, you've got to do something about it."

Rigg said he had since received photos from officials showing Toppa The Mountain a narrow victor, but the images did not show the finishing post.

The owner has now engaged the services of lawyers to assist with the matter. 

"We've got Tom Percy, I've also got another law firm where there's a former race judge there, who is now a lawyer, they're going to assist me on it. They both think I've got an unbelievably strong case."

Was the correct winner declared?

The official print on RWWA

If Green And Shady was first past the post it would be a valuable result for Geisel Park, being by first season sire Vert De Grece who stands at the WA stud, but Rigg said he just wants the correct call to be made.

"This is about making the right decision."

"If they can show me something that categorically shows that my horse lost, then I won't take it a step further. But they can't do that."

"I just want the right decision and I'm pretty confident the right decision hasn't been made."

The Don Luciani-trained gelding was sent around at $11 for his debut with Toppa The Mountain paying $8.

https://www.punters.com.au/news/was-the-correct-winner-declared_195859/

ENDS

No clear indication of the finish line is shown in this story...so conflicting interpretations and the stewards apparently weren't satisfied the judge made an error otherwise the stewards had an obligation to reverse the placings ..............  IMO the owner is flogging a dead horse..

The difficulty is that AR 214 prescribes the judge's decision is final......except if the stewards are satisfied a mistake has been made ......they have power to correct ..and didn't do so .....there's no alteration to betting all bets stand on correct weight.


Giddy Up :beer:

Online wily ole dog

  • Group 1
  • User 218
  • Posts: 28138
« 2021-Jan-23, 06:52 AM Reply #1 »
Inside horse wins

Offline JWesleyHarding

  • Group 1
  • User 231
  • Posts: 20991
« 2021-Jan-23, 09:07 AM Reply #2 »
slo stop at .21 shows outside grey with nose past the line which appears to win.

Question is -  Is the white line really the post?

Online sobig

  • Group 2
  • User 583
  • Posts: 3838
« 2021-Jan-23, 10:21 AM Reply #3 »
As wily said inside horse clearly wins on the official photo finish imo.

The white line is superimposed on the TV coverage and there is no guarantee it is correct


BACK TO ALL TOPICS
Sitemap